Under provisions of Ala. Code §16-5-10 (14) (1975), the Commission has
jurisdiction over non-resident institutions defined as postsecondary
institutions or corporations offering educational programs in Alabama with main
campuses or headquarters located outside the state.
Alabama is the only state within the United States where jurisdiction over
private school licensure and programmatic review and approval of non-resident
programs of higher education for degree granting institutions is divided between two
(2) state agencies, the Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education and the
To facilitate these dual agency assignments of responsibility, a Memorandum of
Agreement between the Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education and the
Commission provided for the integration of programmatic review of non-resident
institutions with the licensure process.
In addition, both the Commission and the Alabama Department of Postsecondary
Education serve as clearinghouses for information about private/proprietary
institutions that offer their programs to Alabama residents.
Non-Resident Institutional Review Procedures, Application and Regulations
Assessed Programmatic Review Fee Schedule
As of January 1, 2014, the Commission will assess programmatic review fees for its non-resident institutional review activities in accord with Ala. Act 2013-368 enacted by the Alabama Legislature during the 2013 session. The schedule is as follows:
- Initial Programmatic Review Fee: $2500
- Renewal Fee: Full-Scale Programmatic Review: $1500
- Renewal Fee: Desk Audit: $500
Fees should be remitted by check or money order made payable to the Alabama Commission on Higher Education-NRI Account.
The assessed programmatic review fee must be submitted with all applications submitted after January 1, 2014 and is non-refundable.
Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education Private School Licensure
Student Complaint Contacts (Public Senior Institutions and Private Non-Profit)